Update: Amazon, All Romance and message for readers

Hello dear readers. Here we are a week into the new year, and I figured I’d give you a brief update on what I’ve been up to.

First thing, I uploaded Sold to the Man in the Purple Fur on Amazon. It takes up to 72 hours for Amazon to process an upload, something which I did not know. In the future, I may attempt posting things sooner so that uploads can happen on Saturday like they used to on All Romance. The book is now successfully up.

Here is the link: Sold to the Man in the Purple Fur on Amazon.

Anyway, the plan starting now is to upload one release/week on Amazon, outside circumstances beyond my control. I may write new things too, but I’m not sure on that and I can’t make any promises. I will be replacing the All Romance links with Amazon links on the pages too.

To be honest, I’m not sure about many things. I haven’t spoken a lot about the All Romance issue. I have tried to stay professional about this debacle, because it’s my firm belief that this is preferable in such situations. But after careful consideration, I thought that perhaps I should share a few things with you.

I won’t go into detail over ARe’s choices toward the end. You’ve all probably read posts about it and are at least a bit informed about it.  But to give a brief summary of the situation, I have not been paid my fourth quarter royalties. I was relying on this money to pay bills, and I have not been paid. I am in a situation in which I am scrambling to start over.  All Romance was my main source of income – which I lost with 3 days notice, two days after Christmas. Now, I am facing having to find a new main distributor for my books. I am hoping to find this in Amazon, but uploading everything on Amazon takes time, and royalties flow in slowly. Not to mention that, while writing can be a very rewarding career, it can also be very difficult when you’re in a creativity hole due to trying to navigate financial troubles and legalese.

In other words, I’m not in a good position. And more and more, I am disheartened, because the publishing industry seems set against the very people without whom it could not exist – the authors. Between bad contracts, bankruptcies, royalties that disappear in the ether, new provisions for erotic romance… I could go on and on…

If I didn’t love writing so much, I would say it’s not worth it. So I won’t continue on that vein. Instead, I’d like to thank you for your loyalty. I hope you’ll all stick with me and together, we’ll weather this storm.

Anya

Leave a Reply

